Jaguar: Company History, Current Models, Interesting Facts ...


Jaguar Cars

Jaguar Cars is a popular brand of luxury automobiles based out of England. Originally founded as their own independent company in 1922, they are now owned by Jaguar Land Rover and run as a separate brand of this company. They have been owned by Jaguar Land Rover since 2008. Jaguar holds royal warrants from Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Charles. Models of their cars are sold in countries around the world.

Company History

Jaguar has a long and fascinating history as an automobile company. They were originally established in 1922 under the name Swallow Sidecar Company. During their first several years in business, they focused their efforts exclusively on manufacturing sidecars of motorcycles.

Indeed, it wasn’t until 1935 that they produced their first automobile. The car came to be known as the SS Jaguar (with SS standing for Swallow Sidecar). The SS Jaguar took the form of a 2.5-Liter saloon style car. Sports models were also produced. These were known as the SS 90 and SS 100.

Swallow Sidecar changed its name to Jaguar Cars shortly after World War II came to a close. The reason they did this was because of the unfavorable association the abbreviation SS had with the Nazi SS. Though times were tough in postwar England, Jaguar managed to achieve some commercial success with its automobile models of the time.

It wasn’t until the 1950s that Jaguar made a name for itself on a world wide scale. A number of their models, including the Jaguar XK120, Jaguar XK140, Jaguar XK150, and Jaguar E-Type, became popular in markets around the world. It was also around this time that Jaguar began its involvement in motorsports racing. They originally used racing as a marketing tool to showcase the engineering integrity of their products.

Jaguar continued to produce a number of successful automobiles over the years. Things weren’t necessarily always smooth for the company though. They were bought and sold by a number of different companies and groups before becoming independent once again in 1984. They were listed on the London Stock Exchange from this year until 1990 when they were acquired by Ford.

As is mentioned above, Jaguar is currently owned by Jaguar Land rover. Their cars are currently manufactured in England and sold around the world. In recent years, the brand has been contracted to manufacturer cars specifically for the British Prime Minister.

Jaguar continues to be a financially successful company to this day. They have expressed plans to open new research and development centers in England. They plan to create a new generation of automobiles and advance their current engineering technologies.

Flagship Model

The Jaguar XJR is the brand’s current flagship model. The car is a high-performance, ultra-luxurious sportier take on their well-known XJ lines of luxury saloons.

The XJR is available in either a short or a long body. Both models include a 5.0-Liter supercharged V8 engine. This gives the car the ability to reach a top speed of 175 miles per hour. An eight-speed automatic transmission was added to the XJR as well as a new front splitter and an aerodynamic sill section. A rear spoiler and unique “R” bonnet louvers top off the car’s design.

A number of additional features were added to help the Jaguar XJR really stick out from the pack. These include Electronic Active Differential and Dynamic Stability Control systems (both calibrated to enhance the car’s handling), 20-inch “Farallon” forged alloy wheels, bespoke Pirelli low-profile tires, and semi-aniline leather. Those purchasing the car are able to choose from a wide selection of veneers and contrasting stitching for the interior upholstery.

The flagship Jaguar XJR was introduced at the New York Auto Show in 2013. The first model went on sale in 2014 in the United States. It has already become one of Jaguar’s most sought after cars.

Current Models

Jaguar currently produces five primary models of its cars. Each of these models is sold in several different varieties depending on the personal preferences of the owner. The five model types Jaguar currently sells are the F-Type, XF, XJ, XK and R-Model.

Jaguar F-Type: Introduced at the 2012 Paris Motor Show, the F-Type was created as a successor to the E-Type, one of Jaguar’s most legendary models. The F-Type is a convertible and sports a 2-seat plan. Three engine types are offered.

Jaguar XF: The XF is Jaguar’s mid-size executive car. It as introduced in 2008 as the successor to the S-Type. Five different engine types are offered. The XF has won numerous awards since its introduction including the “Car of the Year” and “Executive Car of the Year” from What Car?

Jaguar XJ: A full-size luxury saloon, the XJ has been in production since 1968. In fact, the first generation XJ was the last car that company founder Sir William Lyons helped develop and design. The current, fourth-generation, model shares basic characteristics with the first generation model but features advanced engineering and technology as well as updated styling. It features a 5-Liter V8 engine capable of accelerating the car from 0 to 60 miles per hour in less than 5 seconds.

Jaguar XK: The XK is Jaguar’s luxury grand tourer. It was introduced in 2006. It is available as either a two-door coupe or a two-door convertible.

Jaguar R-Models: Jaguar currently produces a wide range of R-Models including their flagship XJR. Each of these models is based off of one of their other model offerings. The R-Models are performance-enhanced versions of these cars. In addition to the XJR, Jaguar makes a XFR, XKR, XFR-S, and XKR-S.

Jaguar Gallery